Welcome

This guide is to support research in Anthropology.

Start by consulting reference resources, particularly dictionaries and encyclopedias.  These will provide you with the concepts--the right words to use when searching the databases and the catalogue, and you will understand better whether the search results meet your needs!

Start with:

Reference Materials: 

Here is a sample of different types of reference resources.  You can find more in the catalogue by following these and other subject headings:

Also try a keyword search, restricting the Location to Reference Collection.

Bibliographies

Biographical Dictionaries

Book Reviews

Most journals in Anthropology contain reviews of books.  They can be searched in Anthropology journal articles databases such as:

Also consult the following journal:

as well as:

Current Research

Please consult the following resources:

For non-academic coverage of current issues in Anthropology, also see Anthropology News.

Dictionaries

Directories

Encyclopedias

Handbooks and Guidebooks

Indexes and Abstracts

See the Journal Articles tab for relevant resources.

Books

Databases

Key Databases: 

Also consider for book reviews:

Archives & Primary Sources

Archives: 

Data & Statistics

Data: 

Please consult <odesi> for help in searching for data sources.

Maps & GIS

Maps: 

To find anthropological or ethnographic maps, try a Boolean keyword search in the catalogue.  Restrict the Material Type to "Print Map".  The first concept should capture the notion of anthropology, ethnography or culture and the second concept can capture a geographical area or indigenous culture.  For instance,

For more information about keyword searching, see the keyword search page in the catalogue.

You can also try a Subject Heading search for:

Media

Images: 

ArtStor contains images of cultural artifacts.

Photographs are a significant part of the Hubert Wenger Eskimo Database.

Try a subject heading search in the catalogue for:

 

Podcasts: 

Videos: 

There is no easy way to construct a list of all Carleton-owned documentaries having to do with Anthropology.  Here are some strategies for finding films:

  1. Perform a keyword search for (anthro* or ethno*) in the catalogue, restricting the Material Type to "Film/Video".  You can add you own concepts as well: for the anthropology of performance, try:

    (anthro* or ethno*) and dance

  2. Check WATMedia for documentaries at Carleton or other universities.  You can restrict by Subject.
  3. We have purchased the right to show streamed videos from the National Film Board of Canada in the classroom.
  4. The Ottawa Public Library also has documentary films.

Music

Music: 

Perform a Subject Heading search in the catalogue for Ethnomusicology.

Websites

General

Associations/Organizations

Academic Departments

Biographies

Careers

Catalogues/Libraries with Anthropology Collections

Topics and Themes

Archaeology

  • ArchNet [WWW Virtual Library: Archaeology]
  • AREA: ARchives of European Archaeology

Cultures

Cyberanthropology

Economic Anthropology

Ethnography

Evolution

Museums and Archives

Theory

Visual Anthropology

Research and Writing