Welcome to the Subject Guide for Business with the United States at Carleton University Library.
Dictionary of Business and Management
Dictionary of Strategic Management
Dictionary of International Business Terms
Blackwell Handbook of Strategic management
Handbook of Strategy and Management
Glossary of Supply Chain Terminology
Doing Business in the United States (Austrade)
New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
U.K. Trade and Investment - Marketing in the USA and Helping Your Business Thrive in the USA's Competitive Market Place
CIMAR (Trade and Investment Barriers Database)
National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (Office of the United States Trade Representative)
Trade: Public Policy & Statistics Subject Guide
Global Competitiveness Report 2009/2010- Backfile available on 4th Floor, LIbrary HF1414.G560
World Competitiveness Online - Only available from an on campus computer.
Export.Gov
Overseas Private Investment Corporation
StatUSA Globus NTDB
Trade and Development Agency
GMID: Global Market Information Database description of database
American Customer Satisfaction Index
Consumer reports
J.D. Power.Com
Recalls.gov
Surveys of Consumers
Other Market Research: Market Reports (FAITC) and Market Profiles (HEC Montreal. Centre for International Business Studies)
U.S. Negotiating Behavior
Country Insights (FAITC)
Online Cross Cultural Training Resources
International Business Etiquette Internet Sourcebook
TIP: Search NAICS 2007 to get the NAICS code for an industry
Bloomberg
Mergent Online (includes Mergent Industry Reports)
Economic Census
EDGAR
Factiva
FP Advisor
GMID
Hoover Company Reports via Lexis Nexis
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Who owns Whom: North and South America
Inter-Corporate Ownership (CD-ROM)
Market Share:
GMID
Market Share Reporter: An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products, and services 2008
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit
Europa World Plus
Metromonitor: tracking economic recession and recovery in America's 100 largest met. areas
RGE Monitor
Bank of Montreal. Economic Research and Analysis
Royal Bank Capital Markets - Economics
Royal Bank Financial Group - Economics
Scotia Bank. Expert Research and Analysis
TD Bank Financial Group. TD Economics
OECD and Source OECD
Economic Report of the President
Government Statistics - United States
FedSpending.org - see MERX for government tenders (all levels)
globalEdge
Governing State and Local Sourcebook
Business Statistics of the United States: Patterns of Economic Change
County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book
Employment, Hours, and Earnings: States and Areas
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity and Other Labor Data
Canada -Ontario Business Service Centre - Exporting to the United States Info-Guide
Export Development Corporation see United States
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Canadian Trade Commissioner Service
Industry Canada - Programs and Services - incl. Intellectual Property and Trade Data Online
Lexis-Nexis
Federal Register
Doing Business in...
Billmaps
Business.gov
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
Bureau of Industry and Security
Consumer Product Safety Commission
Copyright Office
Customs and Border Protection
CQ Weekly Report
Dept. of Agriculture
Fish and Wildlife Service
Food and Drug Administration
Foreign Lobbying Influence Tracker
Louisdb.org
Patent and Trademark Office
Policy File
Resource Shelf's DocuTicker
Small Business Administration
Stateline.org
Trademarkia
Tip: Industry and trade associations can monitor legislation/regulatory developments for their members - so one strategy is to look for an industry association either by consulting a resource such as Associations Unlimited or by doing a Google search such as clothing manufacturers associations.
In this case it leads to a listing one of which is Associations directory for the apparel and fashion industry.
From here there is a link to the American Apparel & Footwear Association - Note the link at the top to AAFA on the Issues