Welcome

Use this guide to begin your research or book an appointment with Martha Attridge Bufton (martha_attridge_bufton@carleton.ca), your subject specialist.  Martha can help you find the research materials you need to complete your assignments and papers.

See the side menu to contact Martha.

Heritage conservationCourse guide for CDNS 2400

Research instruction feedback

Library Guide: 

Journal Articles

Key Databases for Journal Articles: 

The first three databases significant Canadian content (America History and Life contains citations and abstracts to articles from journals in all areas of Canadian and U.S. history). In addition, Canadan Newsstand Complete indexes newspapers from across the country.

You can also consult the Centre for the North which produces research publications.

EI Enginneering, GeoBase and Scopus might be useful for finding information on heritage conservation and, in particular, the use of technology.

Click on "Databases" for other databases to find more articles related to your topic.

Archives & Primary Sources

Archives: 

If your research has an historical component, you may want to consult the following archives for primary and secondary sources:

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has a collection comprised of materials in all media (e.g., books, maps, films and music) from across the country, as well as records and publications of Canadian interest from outside the country.  Special collections include:

Carleton University Archives and Research Collections (ARC)

ARC has rare books related to Canada such as:

Special collections include:

  • George Bemi - Ottawa post-war architect
  • John Hobbs - Peterborough heritage building restoration architect
  • Herb Stovel - Carleton University Canadian Studies professor, consultant, and advisor in heritage conservation
  • Heritage Canada Foundation - Canadian organization with built heritage programming since 1973

Government Information

Canada - Federal: 

To find government policies, check the following:

  1. Canadian Heritage.  Click on "Cultural diversity and rights" in the left-hand menu, then "HUman Rights" and then "Canada's Reports to the UN" which is the middle section of the page.  These reports detail government policies and activities (federal and provincial) related to a number of important international treaties and, in particular, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, the Convention on the Rights of the Child, and the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.
  2. Human Resources and Skills Development Canada.  Click on "publications and resources" in the left-hand menu and then either audit reports or evaluation reports.
  3. Office of the Auditor General of Canada.  The OAG publishes reports that evaluation government policies and programs.  You can also search the websites of the provincial offices of the auditor general.
  4. Library of Parliament of Canada.  The library produces publications on policy issues and you can search the site for your topic.
  5. Search the Canadian Government Policy Cycle subject guide.  In particular, the section on Action introduces you to the variety of ways that the Canadian government can implement policy.
  6. Search both the Canadian Research Index and the Canadian Public Policy Collection which are specialized databases.
  7. Search our catalogue:  do a keyword search and choose "government documents" for the location of the materials.
  8. Find government information online using the library's customized Google search.  You can sort the rersults by level of government (federal, provincial, municipal).

In addition, here is a short list of Canadian federal departments and agencies:

Federal responsibilities include making laws "for the peace, order and good government of Canada,” except for those assigned to the provincial governments including:

  • direct taxation in the province for provincial purposes
  • natural resources
  • prisons (except penitentiaries)
  • education
  • hospitals

Maps & GIS

Maps: 

The Maps, Data and Government Information (MADGIC) section of the library offers online and print maps on a variety of topics including:

Atlas of Canada (online)

Atlas of global issues

Atlas of the risk of homelessness

The Canadian Communities Atlas Project (GeoConnections)

Canadian Oxford world atlas

Miniatlas of human security

Rand McNally the road atlas and travel guide 2009: United States/Canada/Mexico

Wind energy in Canada

World Health Organization (WHO) Global Health Atlas

Websites

GIS: 

GeoGratis

GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada which provides free geospatial data and without restrictions via your Web browser.

Geospatial data for Ottawa

Visit the Geographical Information System (GIS) section of MADGIC for more GIS information.

Media

Images: 

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) collections include:

Videos: 

National Film Board of Canada

The National Film Board of Canada's online screening room allows you to watch hundreds of films free online documentaries, animated and alternatiave drama films.

Carleton University film collection

Our collection contains many films related to Canada including:

  • Democracy 4 dummies is a satirical how-to documentary that follows the grassroots of a Montreal Green Party candidate.
  • H2Oil. This documentary discusses the supply of oil to the United States from Canadas oil sands.
  • Home safe Toronto.  Home safe Toronto is the second in the SkyWorks series of documentaries that deals with how Canadian families with children live with the threat and the experience of homelessness.
  • Referendum, take two/prise.  Explores the role that the issues of sovereignty, language and the meaning of what it means to be Canadian or Québeçois play in people's everyday lives.
  • Who gets in?  This documentary, shot in Canada, Africa and Hong Kong, shows how people try to immigrate to Canada for various reasons and the nature of Canadian immigration policy.

Websites

 University of Minnesota assignment calculator

General Gateways

Centres for research and associations

Special Topics

Aboriginal (Native) Studies  (see also the Aboriginal Studies subject guide on the library's website)

Art History

Cultural Studies

Film (see also the Images & Video tab)

Heritage Conservation

 

History: Archives and historical reproductions

History: General Resources

Impact of the Internet

Literature

Northwest Passages - Canadian Literature Online

  • A collection of links to a wide variety of sources for Canadian Literature.

Multiculturalism

Québec

 

Writing & Citing

Copies of the most recent versions of the major academic style manuals (e.g., APA, MLA, Turabian) are available at the Research Help Desk (2nd floor, MacOdrum Library).

Guides to citing online materials

The Columbia Guide to Online Style. 2006

Recommended websites

Diana Hacker Research and Documentation Online

Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)