Welcome. This guide is designed to help you with your research. You can use this guide to begin your research or book an appointment to work on your research with Martha Attridge Bufton, your subject specialist.
Martha can help you find the research materials you need to complete your assignments and papers. See the side menu for Martha’s contact information.
Instructional videos
Beware of filter bubbles: using search engines to find good, relevant information
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks are a good place to start because they provide short definitions and introductions to key concepts.
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Handbooks
Plus, see our Library Guide for Child Studies, a listing of resources held by the library including bibliographies, dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Use keywords to find books, government and other documents as well as films in the library’s collection. For all relevant titles, click on the subject headings to continue your search.
Here is a small sample of books found in the library's collection that are related to child development and child studies:
Save search alerts: save your favorite searches for easy reference so that you can run these searches on demand (note: this feature saves your search terms but not the materials that you find).
Start your search with Child Development and Adolescent Studies which is the key database for this discipline and then broaden your search by looking at the literature in pscyhology and sociology.
For Human Rights related materials, try HuriSearch, a human rights search engine.
Click on the Databases tab to view the list of other sources for finding journal articles in child studies.
You can also use Family and Society Studies Worldwide.
The following journals are recommended by Child Studies faculty. Some of these publications are available only in either print or online while others are available in both formats.
If your research has an historical component, you may want to consult the following archives for primary and secondary sources:
Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is the shared documentary heritage of all Canadians. The collection comprises materials in all media (e.g., books, maps, films and music) from all parts of the country, as well as records and publications of Canadian interest from outside the country. LAC has a number of special collections such as:
In addition, you can search the archival collection to find collections from organizations such as:
Carleton University Archives and Research Collections
The Carleton University Archives and Research Collections (ARC) has some rare books related to child studies. Here is a sample:
Visit the ARC website for further information about the collections.
Federal
The Data Centre acquires, manages, and preserves quantitative computer-readable data files from the various disciplines of the humanities and social sciences and provides data-related services as needed to support research and instruction at Carleton.
Federal
Statistics Canada has a number of resources related to children and youth including:
Provincial
Note: statistics on provincial Aboriginal populations is often drawn from the 2006 national census.
United States
United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) statistics and monitoring
United States Centre for Disease Control and Prevention: Obesity Trends
For more information or research assistance, consult the Maps, Data and Government information web pages on the library's website.
Find government information online.
In addition, the following federal departments and agencies have programs which directly impact children and their families:
In addition to the following websites, you can do a Google search for governnment web links on the library's Maps, Data and Government Information web page.
Federal responsibilities include making laws "for the peace, order and good government of Canada,” except for those assigned to the provincial governments including:
Here are links to the provincial and territorial governments:
Other provincial sites
Ontario
Other federal legislation
Ontario
For other legislation, please use one of the links below:
GeoGratis
GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada which provides free geospatial data and without restrictions via your Web browser.
Library and Archives Canada (LAC) collections include
Other images of Canadian children can be found at:
National Film Board of Canada
The National Film Board of Canada's online screening room allows you to watch hundreds of films free online documentaries, animated and alternatiave drama films.
Carleton University film collection
Our collection contains many films related to child studies including:
Listed below are general links in addition to links on special topics such as the social determinants of health.
General links
Suicide prevention
Copies of the most recent versions of the major academic style manuals (e.g., APA, MLA, Turabian) are available at the Research Help Desk (2nd floor, MacOdrum Library).
Guides to citing online materials
The Columbia Guide to Online Style. 2006
Recommended websites