Welcome

This guide points you to some of the Library's main resources that will support the Chinese language classes on campus.

If you are more interested in studying the linguistics of Chinese, please see the related subject guide: Linguistics

Make sure to also check the resources of the Language Labs on the first floor of Paterson Hall run by the School of Linguistics & Language Studies

For a list of Chinese Language classes at Carleton see the undergraduate calendar.

The Library subscribes to some Chinese langauge newspapers which you can find in our Newspaper section on the 1st floor

Reference Materials: 

Languge Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture
    E-Book
  • Encyclopedia of China : the essential reference to China, its history and culture
    Floor 2 Reference DS705.P47

Books

Journal Articles

  • These databases are for finding material about Chinese language and literature and the teaching of Chinese
  • If you are looking for articles  ABOUT other Chinese topics, choose from our other databases based on your topic (example Historical Abstracts for Chinese history; Business Source Complete for Chinese Business etc..)
  • If you are looking for articles on a topic that iare also written in Chinese look on the database advanced search screen for an option to limit by language. (You can ususally do your search in English since these databases often translate titles and abstracts into English.)
  • Since we do not subscribe to many journals written in Chinese, you can use RACER, our online interlibrary loan service to order these articles.

Databases

Key Databases: 

Key Databases:

  • The Factiva database has full-text of Chinese language news sources.
  • To search just the Chinese language material select the "source category" by choosing "publications by language" or "publications by region" AND change the "Language" to Chinese (choose both the Chinese. Simplified and Chinese Traditional)
  • Click on Support and search for "chinese" to get more information about searching Factiva in Chinese
  • You can search in English but this only searches keywords assigned by Factiva. If you want to search the full text you will have to search in Chinese.

Additional Databases

  • These databases are for finding material about Chinese language and literature
  • If you are looking for material ABOUT other Chinese topics, choose from our other databases based on your topic (example Historical Abstracts for Chinese history; Business Source Complete for Chinese Business etc..)
  • If you are looking for material on a topic that is also IN Chinese look on the database advanced search screen  to limit by language. (You can ususally do your search in English since these databases often translate titles and abstracts into English.)
  • Since we do not subscribe to many journals written in Chinese, you can use RACER, our online interlibrary loan service to order these articles.

Government Information

Media

Videos: 

Videos in our Collection (For more details see our Find Videos guide)

  • You can borrow videos from the Library's collection for 3 days at a time (with 2 renewals).
  • You can pre-book a video for a specific date by using the "Book this Title" button in the catalogue
  • While the Library does not have many videos IN the Chinese language, if you want to see what films we have about China or the Chinese try a keyword search in our catalogue for China or Chinese and and choosing to limit to just the film/video collection.
     

Other Videos

Where to find foreign films in Ottawa:

 

Music

Music: 

Listening to Chinese music and following along with lyrics, can be a great way to improve your language skills, especially pronunciation

These sites may help you find music you will like as well as lyrics

Websites

Chinese in Ottawa

Language Links

Portals to Information on China

Find Chinese language material with Google

  • Try Google China
  • On Google, use Advanced Search & Language Tools.  Both options allow you to limit to Chinese Language material.
    Google screen showing location of advanced search and language tools

Writing & Citing

The Library has a lot of guides to help with writing papers at a university level. Some selected titles:

  • Fit to print: the Canadian student's guide to essay writing
    Floor 2 Reference LB2369.B83 2009
  • Making sense: a student's guide to resarch and writing
    5th edition, Floor 2 Reference LB2369.N67 2006
    4th updated edition, Floor 4 LB2369.N67 2004
  • Writing with sources: a guide for students
    Floor 2 Reference PE1478.H37 2008

Chinese Grammar Books