Welcome

Welcome to the library resource guide for Computer Science at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks. For other types of resources, please use the tabs at the top of this page.

Reference Materials: 

Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries
 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Online

Print

Handbooks
Online

Print

Patents

  • Canadian Patents Database  Canadian Intellectual Patent Office (CIPO) contains all Canadian patents and images from 1933 to the present.
  • Google Patents  Fastest place to go for all U.S. patents and some U.S. patent applications. Contains descriptions and images in PDF and HTML
  • MicroPatent  Access to all U.S. patents, U.S. patent applications, World patents, European patents, Japanese abstracts, and more. Ability to search full text, download and export citations.
  • WikiPatents  Database of patents open for public comment, PDF downloading of patents, and free patent translation into multiple languages.

Standards

SEARCH TIPS

  • Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
  • Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
  • Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
  • Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
  • Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
  • Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
  • Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
  • Googlepedia: the ultimate Google resource / Michael Miller
Library Guide: 

Journal Articles

Key Databases for Journal Articles: 

Databases

Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals

Media

Videos: 
  • Khan Academy: Watch. Practice. Learn almost anything for free.
  • Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform which provides access to streaming videos from Films Media Group.
  • JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
  • Computer Science videos

Websites

arXivOpen access to 751,977 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

Bioinformatics

Communication Networks

Computer Vision

Data Structures

Database Systems

  • MySQL: The world's most popular open source database

Discrete Mathematics

Distributed and Real-time Systems

GIS

Graph Theory

Informatics

io-port.net

Logic Programming

Machine Learning

Medical Computing

Parallel Computing

Software Engineering

Web Technologies

Wireless Communication

General Links

Technical Reports

Conferences

Algorithms

Computational Geometry

Artificial Intelligence

Cognitive Science

Genetic Algorithms and Programming

Intelligent Agents

Biographies

Computer and Network Security

Cryptography

History

Object Oriented Programming

Organizations, Institutes...

Podcasts

Programming Languages

Java

Web Programming

  • W3 Schools tutorials on HTML, XML, CSS, TCP/IP, JavaScript, etc.

Quantum Computing

Robotics

Semantic Web

Career Related Sites

Related Carleton University Links

Course Web pages

Ottawa High-Tech

Writing & Citing

Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Refworks)

Writing Help

Literature Reviews

Internet resource: 

Print books:

Online book: 

Database:

  • Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.