Journal Articles

Data & Statistics

Data: 

Useful Books:

Cambridge Handbook of Earth Science Data

The Geoscience Handbook: AGI data sheets

Satellite geology and photogeomorphology: an instructional manual for data integration

Advances in geocomputing

Databases:

Geoscience Data Repository is a collection of Earth Science Sector geoscience databases in Canada. Includes the following: digital map images, aeromagnetic and electromagnetic data, borehole geophysical data, gravity data, radioactivity data, seismic and magnetotelluric data, NGR geochemical data, geochemical suvey metadata, mineral deposits, BASIN petroleum exploration, fossil fuels data discovery tool, Canadian geochronology knowledge base, national rock properties database, expedition database, offshore geophysical records and Canadian marine multibeam bathymetric images.

Media

Videos: 

Use Watmedia to search approximately 50,000 film/video titles that are held by other Ontario universities and can be borrowed. You can also check out the library's video collection below.

Websites

News

ScienceDaily - City of Ottawa, Canada, Sits Atop Soil, Geologic Features that Amplify Seismic Waves

Other Library Catalogues

  • NRCan Library Catalogue ( NRCan Library - Ottawa, (geology, geomatics, map and photo collections), and the regional libraries of Québec City, Calgary, and Vancouver)
  • CISTI Catalogue Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information

Search Engines

  • CIESIN Centre for International Earth Science Information Network
  • GeologyOntario - provides access to all Ontario Geological Survey maps, reports and datasets and over 75,000 private sector Assessment Files, as well as data on mineral occurrences, surface and underground drilling, lithogeochemical results and abandoned mines information for the province of Ontario. Six distinct databases can be searched based on specific attribute information found in the following:

* Assessment File Research Imaging (AFRI)
* OGS Publications
* Mineral Deposits Inventory
* Lithogeochemistry
* Drill Hole Database
* The Abandoned Mines Information System.

In addition, text searches can be performed on the contents of the publications and assessment files.

Over four hundred digital products containing field data, geophysical surveys, geochemical analyses and geochronological measurements are available for download.

Museums

Educational Institutions

Societies & Associations