Subject Guide TabsWelcomeWelcome to the library research guide for Electronics and Telecommunications Engineering at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. For other types of resources, please use the tabs at the top of this page. Reference Materials: Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries Encyclopedias and Dictionaries Online Dekker encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology [electronic resource] / editors, James A. Schwarz, Cristian Contescu, Karol Putyera. Electrochemical dictionary [electronic resource] / Allen J. Bard, György Inzelt, Fritz Scholz (Eds.) Encyclopedia of software engineering [electronic resource]. Scholarpedia TechEncyclopedia Contains more than 15,000 definitions about the computer field and IT industry. Handbooks Online Springer handbook of lasers and optics [electronic resource] / Frank Träger (ed.). The VLSI handbook [electronic resource] / edited by Wai-Kai Chen. AutoCAD 2009 and AutoCAD LT 2009 [electronic resource] : no experience required / Jon McFarland. Springer handbook of nanotechnology [electronic resource] / Bharat Bhushan (ed.). Handbook of semiconductor interconnection technology [electronic resource] / edited by Geraldine C. Schwartz, Kris V. Srikrishnan. Handbook of engineering electromagnetics [electronic resource] / edited by Rajeev Bansal. The handbook of photonics [electronic resource] / edited by Mool C. Gupta, John Ballato. Print Handbook of chemistry and physics. Handbook of photonics for biomedical science / edited by Valery V. Tuchin. Cambridge illustrated handbook of optoelectronics and photonics / Safa Kasap, Harry Ruda, Yann Boucher. Mathematical handbook for electrical engineers / Sergey A. Leonov, Alexander I. Leonov. Patents Canadian Patents Database Canadian Intellectual Patent Office (CIPO) contains all Canadian patents and images from 1933 to the present. Google Patents Fastest place to go for all U.S. patents and some U.S. patent applications. Contains descriptions and images in PDF and HTML MicroPatent Access to all U.S. patents, U.S. patent applications, World patents, European patents, Japanese abstracts, and more. Ability to search full text, download and export citations. WikiPatents Database of patents open for public comment, PDF downloading of patents, and free patent translation into multiple languages. Standards ASTM International Standards Worldwide CSA Standards IEEE Standards via IEEEXplore Search Tips Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators) Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc. Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers. Library Guide: Electronics2012.doc SystemsandComputerEngineering2012.doc BooksRecommended Books: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding Books and Serials on Electronics Engineering are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: TK1-9971. New titles. Books and Serials on Telecommunications Engineering are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: TK5101-6720 (Telecommunication Including telegraphy, telephone, radio, radar, television). New titles. Google Books >Electrical Engineering The Atlas of Cyberspace, by Martin Dodge and Rob Kitchin. The full content of the book now available for free download as a pdf. Suggested Subject Headings: Computer Aided DesignMicrowaves and ElectromagneticsPhotonicsPower and Energy SystemsSolid State Devices and Integrated Circuit TheoryVLSI Design Fulltext eBook Collections: Books24x7Cambridge University Press eBooksCRCnetBASEKnovel LibraryMyiLibrarySafari Books OnlineSpringer eBooksTaylor & Francis eBooks Journal ArticlesKey Databases for Journal Articles: EI Engineering VillageIEEE Xplore Digital LibraryScopus DatabasesKey Databases: CRCnetBASEEI Engineering VillageIEEE Xplore Digital LibraryAdditional Databases: Academic OneFileACM Digital LibraryDissertations and Theses GlobalIOPscienceScopusSPIE Digital Library DatabaseSpringerLink JournalsTaylor & Francis Journals OnlineWeb of ScienceWeb of Science Core CollectionDatabase Annotations: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals. JournalsSelect Journals: ACM computing surveys [electronic resource]. Canadian electronics. Canadian journal of electrical and computer engineering. Construction Canada. DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Electric Power Systems Research [electronic resource]. Electrical construction and maintenance [electronic resource]. Electrical Engineering [electronic resource]. Electrical wholesaling [electronic resource]. The Electricity Journal [electronic resource]. Energy engineering : journal of the Association of Energy Engineers. IEEE electrical insulation. IEEE potentials [electronic resource]. IEEE signal processing magazine. IEEE spectrum. IEEE transactions on dielectrics and electrical insulation : a publication of the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society. IEEE transactions on information theory / Professional Technical Group on Information Theory. International journal of electrical engineering education. Journal of electronic imaging. Physics today. Power electronics technology for engineers, designers, and integrators [electronic resource]. Renewable energy focus Science. Transmission & distribution world [electronic resource]. Government InformationCanada - Federal: Transforming Saskatchewan's electrical future. Part one, sustainability is achievable, but how do we get there? [electronic resource] / by Mark Bigland-Pritchard and Peter Prebble. Discussion paper on the sustainable international management of waste electrical & electronic equipment [electronic resource] / contributors: Abena Amoako-Tuffour, Satya Mohapatra, Carolyn Webb. MediaVideos: Buckminster Fuller [videorecording] : the lost interviews. Nerves at work [videorecording] / director, Martin Weitz ; narrators, Derek Cooper, Miriam Margolyes ; writer and producer, Karl Sabbagh. Khan Academy: Watch. Practice. Learn almost anything for free. Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform which provides access to streaming videos from Films Media Group. Electrical Engineering videos WebsitesWebsites: General gateways EE/CS Mother Site (Stanford University) EEVL: The Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics and Computing eg3.com: Provides information on "embedded systems, dsp, real-time/rtos, board-level computing, soc and more." Associations and organizations Canadian Microelectronics Corporation Communications and Information Technology Ontario (CITO) IEEE Canada IEEE Circuits and Systems Society IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) International Telecommunications Union Ottawa Centre for Research and Innovation (OCRI) Optical Society of America SPIE: International Society for Optical Engineering Professional Engineers Ontario Course Web Links Undergraduate Courses - Graduate Courses Circuits Circuit Theory (AALTO University, Finland) Electrical Engineering Circuits Archives University of Idaho's Links to VLSI information Computer Aided Design The World Wide Web Virtual Library: CAD Guides National Technical Information Service (purchase documents from NTIS) The World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Electrical and Electronics Engineering Yahoo: Electrical Engineering Neural Networks Brigham Young University - Neural Networks and Machine Learning Lab Optical Engineering Yahoo Optical Engineering Semiconductors The Semiconductor Subway SemiWeb Signal processing Iovegian's DSP Guru Signal Processing Information Base (SPIB) Standards organizations American National Standards Institute (ANSI) IEEE Standards Home Page International Electrotechnical Commission International Organization for Standardization (ISO) International Telecommunication Union National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standards Council of Canada Writing and CitingMore Writing & Citing Resources: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Refworks) Writing Help Advice on Research and Writing IEEE Citation style guide Citing Electronic Resources Technical Report Writing (from NASA) Academic Writing Centre and the Writing Tutorial Service Get one-on-one help with the entire writing process. Science and technology research : writing strategies for students / Tina M. Neville, Deborah B. Henry, Bruce D. Neville. Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students The craft of editing : a guide for managers, scientists, and engineers / Michael Alley. Literature Reviews Internet resource: Selected Links to Resources on Writing a Literature Review Print books: Conducting research literature reviews : from the Internet to paper / Arlene Fink. The literature review : a step-by-step guide for students / Diana Ridley. Scientific writing and communication : papers, proposals, and presentations / Angelika H. Hofmann. Online book: The Oxford guide to library research [electronic resource] / Thomas Mann. Database: Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.