Welcome

Welcome to the library subject  guide for Engineering (General) at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. For other types of resources, please use the tabs at the top of this page.

Reference Materials: 

Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries
 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Online

Print

Handbooks

Online

Print

Patents and Standards

Books

Journal Articles

Additional Databases: 

Databases

Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals

 

Media

Videos: 

Khan Academy: Watch. Practice. Learn almost anything for free.

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments

Websites

General

Civil Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

"Fellow faculty, I believe that through shared experiences and open communication, we can continue to grow as an educating body of professionals. Each of us has unique skills that can benefit our education system as a whole; please feel free to use any of the resources provided on this site in your own classes. Likewise, any additional resources you would like to share would be greatly appreciated. Our commitment to excellence is what sets us apart and our willingness to improve is what will continue to help us grow." Mrs Kennedy's Classroom

Writing & Citing

Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Refworks)

Writing and Research 

Literature Reviews

Internet resource:

Print books:

Online book:

Database:

  • Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.