Journals

Select Journals: 

Animation Journal: Founded in 1991, Animation Journal was the first peer-reviewed scholarly journal devoted to animation history and theory. Its content reflects the diversity of animation's production techniques and national origins.

Candian Journal of Film Studies: The Canadian Journal of Film Studies / Revue Canadienne d'etudes cinematographiques is Canada's leading academic peer-reviewed film journal.

Film Criticism: A refereed, scholarly journal that publishes original research in film theory. Articles examine and deconstruct films from a variety of critical, political, and aesthetic viewpoints. Unusual aspects of films and symbolism are discussed in great detail.

Film & History Offers insightful reviews of books and films and a Featured Section of articles that looks closely at one significant topic. The journal is affiliated with the American Historical Association and operates under the direction of the Center for the Study of Film and History.

Millenium Film Journal: Since 1978 the Millennium Film Journal has published articles about independent, experimental, and avant-garde cinema, video, and works using digital technologies.

Postmodern Culture: Journal of interdisciplinary thought on contemporary culture. PMC offers a forum for commentary, criticism, and theory on subjects ranging from identity politics to the economics of information.

The following open source full text e-journals are accessible to the public:

KINEMA: A Journal for Film and Audiovisual Media (University of Waterloo)

Cinema Canada: Founded by the Canadian Society for Cinematographers, Cinema Canada was the trade journal of record for the Canadian Film and television industry for 18 years.

Film Magazine: A publication of the Danish Film Institute

Film Philosophy: Film-Philosophy is an international peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to philosophically discussing film studies, aesthetics and world cinema.

Image and Narrative: Image and Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures.

Animation Studies: Animation Studies is the Society for Animation Studies’ peer-reviewed online journal. It publishes the society’s conference proceedings and is open to submissions from SAS members.

Scope: Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham. Scope provides a forum for discussion of all aspects of film history, theory criticism.

Archives & Primary Sources

Archives: 

 

Primary Sources: 

The Library has three collections of historical film documents:

History of Cinema, Series 1 - Hollywood and the Production Code (33 microfilm reels) - contains files from the Motion Picture Association of America Production Code Administrations documenting over 40 years of self-regulation and censorhip in the motion picture industry. Use accompanying guide.

Little Magazine Series, 1889 - 1972

Little Magazine Second Series

Media

Videos: 

Use the FIND menus to locate videos in the Library's collection.

Films that are not available through the library may be available through interlibrary loan through WATmedia. Search for films through the Watmedia database and then request them using the Interfilm Video Request form.

Other sites:

Internet Archive - Movie Archive: This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

 

Music

Music: 

To browse titles in the library catalogue, limit your search to "SUBJECT" and search: Motion picture music

 

 

 

 

Websites

Digital Collections

Associations and Organizations

National Cinema: Canada

Film Festivals

The Film Festival Academy

Film and Festivals

Film Festival Research

Film Festival World