Welcome

Welcome to the library resource guide for Games and Interactive Media at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks. For other types of resources, please use the tabs at the top of this page. 

Reference Materials: 

Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Handbooks

Patents

  • Canadian Patents Database  Canadian Intellectual Patent Office (CIPO) contains all Canadian patents and images from 1933 to the present.
  • Google Patents  Fastest place to go for all U.S. patents and some U.S. patent applications. Contains descriptions and images in PDF and HTML
  • MicroPatent  Access to all U.S. patents, U.S. patent applications, World patents, European patents, Japanese abstracts, and more. Ability to search full text, download and export citations.
  • WikiPatents  Database of patents open for public comment, PDF downloading of patents, and free patent translation into multiple languages.

Standards

SEARCH TIPS

  • Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for.
  • Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic.
  • Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search.
  • Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
  • Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
  • Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
  • Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
  • Googlepedia [electronic resource]: the ultimate Google resource / Michael Miller.

Books

Journal Articles

Key Databases for Journal Articles: 

Databases

Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals

Media

Videos: 

Training videos

Games

Online Games

Video Game Emulations 

  • DOSGamesArchive.com This site contains DOS games in their archive that can be downloaded for free.

Websites

Games and Learning Scholars

  • Brenda Laurel is an advocate for girl video game development, a "pioneer in developing virtual reality", a public speaker, a consultant, and on the board of several companies and organizations. Consulting Librarian for History, Women's Studies, Economics and Politics
  • Douglas Thomas is an American scholar, researcher, and journalist. He is Associate Professor at the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Southern California where he studies technology, communication, and culture.
  • Gabe Zichermann is an entrepreneur and author whose work centers on gamification--and the power of games to help engage people and build strong organizations and communities.
  • Henry Jenkins III is an American media scholar and currently a Provost Professor of Communication, Journalism, and Cinematic Arts, a joint professorship at the USC Annenberg School for Communication and the USC School of Cinematic Arts
  • Ian Bogost is a video game designer, critic and researcher. He holds a joint professorship in the School of Literature, Media, and Communication and in Interactive Computing in the College of Computing at the Georgia Institute of Technology,
  • James Paul Gee Mary Lou Fulton Presidential Professor of Literacy Studies at Arizona State University and faculty affiliate of the Games, Learning, and Society group at the University of Wisconsin–Madison (a member of the National Academy of Education)
  • Jane McGonigal She currently serves on the Board of Directors for Games for Change, and for the annualSerious Games Summit at the Game Developers Conference.
  • Joel Levin a computer teacher at a private school in New York City. This blog chronicles his foray into using Minecraft in the classroom.
  • Katie Salen is a game designer, animator, and educator. She is a professor in the DePaul University College of Computing and Digital Media.
  • Paul Andersen has been teaching science in Montana for the last eighteen years.  He explains how he is using elements of game design to improve learning in his AP Biology classroom.
  • Paul Howard-Jones research explores the benefits offered to education by emerging technologies, aided by a critical consideration of underlying cognitive processes.
  • Paul Waelchli Director of the Russell D. Cole Library and the College Librarian,
  • Scott Nicholson Professor of Library and Information Science at Syracuse University
  • Sir Kenneth Robinson is an English author, speaker, and international advisor on education in the arts to government, non-profits, education, and arts bodies.
  • Stuart Brown founder The National Institute for Play.
  • Tom Chatfield is a British author, technology theorist and commentator.

Carleton U Experts

Gagne’s Nine Events of Instruction

These web sites can supplement research done with books, journals, and other academic materials.

  • Gamasutra Gamasutra provides news articles, features, blogs, and press releases related to the art and business...
  • Game FAQS GameFAQs is a comprehensive collection of computer and video game cheat codes, walkthrough guides, reviews...
  • Gamedev.net Gamedev.net is a game development site that presents articles about the industry, review of development...
  • Gamedevmap This web site presents an interactive map showing where game developers, publishers, and organizations...
  • Joystiq Joystiq is a blog dedicated to providing coverage of video game news and commentary on games, game culture...
  • Kotaku Kotaku is an international blog primarily reporting on video game news from Japan, Oceania, and North America...
  • Metacritic Metacritic is a review site that compiles reviews from other review sources, and applies an algorithm...
  • MobyGames MobyGames is an unofficial but highly comprehensive database of computer, console, and arcade games...
  • Science Daily This site contains press releases and news articles pertaining to academic research with computer...
  • The Escapist The Escapist is an online magazine that offers news articles, columns, and features pertaining to video...   

The following list includes various North American and international professional organizations dedicated to video game design, development, and publishing, and the computer and video game industry at large.

Games Rule

Game Preservation Initiatives

  • Game Preservation Special Interest Group (SIG) The purpose of the Game Preservation SIG is to serve as a meta-resource, hub and community for those interested in digital game preservation and history.
  • How They Got Game The aim of the How They Got Game research project is to explore the history and cultural impact...
  • The National Videogame Archive (UK) The National Videogame Archive is a joint project between the National Media Museum and Nottingham Trent University, which aims to celebrate the videogame culture and preserve that history for researchers, developers, game fans and the public.
  • Preserving Games Project at UT Austin This IMLS early career award is an ethnographic research project focused on supporting the collection and preservation of massively multiplayer online (MMO) games. Project documents and references can be found at http://www.preservegames.net
  • Preserving Virtual Worlds A number of universities are working with the Library of Congress to preserve digital games and virtual worlds like Second Life.
  • The Videogame Music Preservation Foundation A site where the music of videogames is kept alive by making it available for listening in the original formats as well as newer digital formats.

Video Game Archives 

Information about other places that archive video games-related materials can be found here:

  • Cabrinety Videogame Collection, Stanford The Stephen M. Cabrinety Collection in the History of Microcomputing at Stanford University consists...
  • Computerspiele (Computer Game) Museum, Berlin The world's first permanent exhibition of interactive digital entertainment culture.
  • Elliott Avedon Museum and Archive of Games was a public museum housed at the University of Waterloo, in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. It was established in 1971. The University closed the museum in 2009 and transferred the physical collection to the Canadian Museum of Civilization. There are over 700 WebPages of virtual exhibits which includes videos, photographs, diagrams, other graphics, and textual information about games.
  • The National Videogame Archive This Archive is working to preserve, analyse and display the products of the global videogame industry...
  • The UT Videogame Archive The UT Videogame Archive is a collection component of The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History...
  • Video Game Archive Project at Ritsumeikan University GAP includes video games, software and hardware, and includes a database of basic information collection and related materials...

Games and Narrative ‚Äč

Writing & Citing

Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Refworks)

 

Writing Help

Literature Reviews

Internet resource:

Print books:

Online book:

Database:

  • Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.