Journal Articles

Key Databases for Journal Articles: 

Always start with GEOBASE, or try broadening your search using SCOPUS. Click on the Databases tab to view the list of other sources for finding journal articles in geography.

Archives & Primary Sources

Archives: 

Maps & GIS

Maps: 

Good web sites to get started with finding maps:

For creating maps:

  • SimplyMap Canada is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for Canada. Also good for non-GIS users to create maps using Census data.

Media

Images: 

Proquest Illustrata: Natural Sciences - acts as a complement to existing CSA databases by making tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature, searchable.

Videos: 

Why Geography Matters by Google Earth on Youtube

Films on Demand - is a collection of streaming educationtional videos that cover a wide spectrum of disciplines. It contains both clips and full-length videos. Many of the videos are part of the TED Talks series on ideas worth spreading.

Use WATMEDIA to search approximately 50,000 film/video titles that are held by other Ontario universities and can be borrowed by using this form.

The National Film Board of Canada's online screening room allows you to watch hundreds of films free online documentaries, animated and alternative drama films.

Check out the library's video collection - Find more video information.

Selected film titles: