Welcome

This guide provides access to selected resources for the study of human rights.

The 'Websites" tab provides links to not only Human Rights websites and free databases, but also to various associations, research institutions, and nongovernmental organizations.

Journal Articles

Additional Databases: 

Archives & Primary Sources

Archives: 

Primary Sources:
A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the period being studied. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event.  Also included are works created later by an eyewitness or a participant in an event, e.g. memoirs/autobiographies.

Types of primary sources:

  • Original documents (including excerpts and translations): diaries, speeches, manuscrips, letters, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records, ancient literature, magazine and newspaper articles.
  •     Creative works: poetry, drama, novels, printed music, sound recordings, art.
  •     Relics or artefacts: pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings.
  •     Statistics and raw data
  •     Reproductions, facsimiles or replicas of original documents, creative works or artefacts are also acceptable as primary sources.
     

Government Information

Local: 

 

Laws & Legislation

Canada - Provincial: 

Other Provinces & Territories:

Legislatures

Please note that bills, debates, and other provincial parliamentary documents are usually available on legislative home pages.

Acts & Regulations

Acts and regulations for all provinces and territories are available through Westlaw and CanLII.  Check the Library catalogue for annual statutes not covered by the electronic versions.

Municipal

Foreign: 

United States:

Thomas: Legislation (bills, summaries and status, Public Laws), Congressional Record and Committee Information

FDsys:Federal Digital System: Congressional Bills, Congressional Record, Public and Private Laws, and United States Code and Popular Names Tables.

United States Code and help in searching the U.S. Code:

United States - State Law

United States - Municipal

Administrative Code of the City of New York: Scroll to the bottom of the list and click on ADC New York Administrative Code.

Other countries

Australia:

New Zealand:

New Zealand Legislation

United Kingdom:

Other:

Maps & GIS

Maps: 

Atlas of Human Rights: mapping violations of freedom around the globe G1046.E625 F233 2010

Websites

Human Rights Web Sites & Free Databases

HuriSearch: Search engine; searches over 5,000 human rights web sites

Women's Human Rights Resources Database

Associations, Education and Research Institutions

Harvard Law School library guides

Other Non-Governmental Organizations