Welcome, this guide is designed to help you with your research. You can use this guide to begin your research or book an appointment to work on your research with Martha Attridge Bufton, your subject specialist.
Martha can help you find the research materials you need to complete your assignments and papers. See the side menu for her contact information.
Doc Zone: Aboriginal Peoples, Canada and the Way Forward
When looking for information, beware of filter bubbles.
Use the CRAP test to find good information.
Instructional videos
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks are a good place to start because they provide short definitions and introductions to key concepts.
Use keywords to find books, government and other documents as well as films in the library. For all relevant titles, click on the subject headings to continue your search
Here is a small sample of books found in the library's collection that are related to indigenous studies:
Aboriginal Self-Government in Canada: Current trends and issues
Canada and the Aboriginal peoples, 1867-1927
Handbook of the American frontier: Four centuries of Indian-White relationships
Response, responsibility and renewal: Canada's truth and reconciliation journey
Treaties with Canada. Aboriginal Land Claims, North
Save search alerts: save your favorite searches for easy reference so that you can run these searches on demand (note: this feature saves your search terms but not the materials that you find).
The Saskatchewan Cultural Centre has links to a number of good sources including Our elders: interviews with Saskatchewan elders and selected articles from Saskatchewan Indian Magazine.
If your essay is historical, start with America History and Life which covers North American history. The Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q) has Canadian content and the Bibliography of Native North American covers a range of topics and includes a variety of materials. In addition, the Indigenous Studies Portal has a lot of Canadian content.
Plus, search the National Aboriginal Document Database which can be used for research projects such as documenting land claims, or for studying independent statutes and acts as well as treaties and court decisions.
For human rights publications, search HuriSearch.
Click on the Databases tab to view the list of other sources for finding journal articles in Aboriginal studies.
In addition, search the National Aboriginal Document Database which can be used for research projects such as documenting land claims, or for studying independent statutes and acts as well as treaties and court decisions.
The following journals and magazines are related to indigenous studies. Some of these publications are available only in print while others are available online or in print and electronic format.
Peer-reviewed
Non peer-reviewed
Library and Archives Canada
Library and Archives Canada is committed to its role in the acquisition and preservation of Aborginal heritage and offers:
Carleton University Archives and Research Collections
The Carleton University Archives and Research Collections (ARC) has some rare books related to Aboriginal Studies. Here is a sample:
Eskimos and Indians, and the English language. [Sound recording]
Transitions 2: contemporary Indian and Inuit art of Canada
The visions and revelations of St. Louis the Métis
Schwatka's search: sledging in the Arctic in quest of the Franklin records
Visit the ARC website for further information about the collections.
Databases
Early Canadiana Online. A digital library featuring works published from the time of the first European settlers to the 1920s.
Newspapers
Native Newspapers Currently Received by Library and Archives Canada. See the journals tab for links to Aboriginal newspapers and publications such as Windspeaker.
Voices, stories, histories
Elders' Voices provides information on the history and culture of Canada's Northwest Aboriginal peoples through the voices and stories of Aborginal elders.
See also the Websites tab, under the "Elders" subheading.
The Data Centre acquires, manages, and preserves quantitative computer-readable data files from the various disciplines of the humanities and social sciences and provides data-related services as needed to support research and instruction at Carleton.
Federal
Federal
Provincial
Note: statistics on provincial Aboriginal populations is often drawn from the 2006 national census.
United States
In addition to the following websites, find government information online.
Canadian Human Rights Commission
Indian & Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) including:
Indian Specific Claims Commission
Justice, Department of, Aboriginal Justice Strategy
Justice, Department of, Aboriginal Courtroom Program
Non-governmental organizations
Inuit
Métis
Alberta Aboriginal Relations
Aboriginal Peoples of British Columbia British Columbia
Manitoba Aboriginal and Northern Affairs
New Brunswick Aboriginal Affairs Secretariat
Newfoundland and Labrador Dept. of Labrador and Aboriginal Affairs
Northwest Territories Dept. of Aboriginal Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations
Nova Scotia Office of Aboriginal Affairs
Nunavut Government
Ontario Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs
Prince Edward Island Aboriginal Affairs Secretariat
Quebec Secretariat aux affaires autochtones
Saskatchewan First Nations and Metis Relations
Yukon Government
Other
Local Aboriginal organizations
Carleton University Aboriginal CKCU
Minwaashin Lodge
Nunavut Sivuniksavut
Odawa Native Friendship Centre
Urban Aboriginal Alternative High School
Ottawa Local Metis Council
Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health
Local Aboriginal communities
Akwesasne Reserve (Cornwall, Ontario)
Algonquins of Pikwakanagan (Golden Lake First Nation,Golden Lake, Ontario)
Kahnawake First Nation (Kahnawake, Quebec)
Kitigan Zibi Community (Kitigan Zibi Indian Reserve, Quebec)
Arctic
Australia and New Zealand
United States
Other federal legislation
Land Claims and Treaties
Useful websites
Native Law Centre of Canada. The website includes a link to Canadian Native Law Cases from 1763 - 1978 complied and indexed by researchers at the Native Law Centre at the University of Saskatchewan.
Ontario E-Laws
Quebec Laws & Regulations
Canadian Legal Information Institute (CANLII): for all provinces
United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (read online at the International Work Group for Indigenous Peoples website)
The library's Maps, Data and Government Information Centre has an extensive collection of sheet maps and atlases as well as wall maps, globes, air photos and cartographic reference works that support research and teaching in almost every discipline.
Resources specifically related to Aboriginal studies include:
GeoConnections: Aboriginal communities
GeoConnections provides information, such as maps and satellite images, related to issues such as public health, public safety and security, the environment and sustainable development, Aboriginal matters, and geomatics technology development.
GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada which provides free geospatial data and without restrictions via your Web browser.
CBC
A Lost Heritage: Canada's Residential Schools (CBC Digital Archives)
Library and Archives Canada (LAC)
Canadian film festivals
The Dreamspeakers Festival Society supports and educates the public about Aboriginal culture, art and heritage. It is a resource for Aboriginal filmmakers, for directors, scriptwriters, cameramen, technicians, actors, musicians, storytellers, artists and craftspeople.
First Nations Film creates and distributes award-winning television documentary films for, by and about Indigenous people
imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival is an international festival that celebrates the latest works by Indigenous peoples on the forefront of innovation in film, video, radio, and new media.
Skábmagovat is an indigenous peoples’ film festival that focuses on the indians of Bolivia, Canada and the Sámi.
United States
National Film Board of Canada
The National Film Board of Canada's online screening room allows you to watch hundreds of films free online documentaries, animated and alternatiave drama films.
Youtube
Carleton University film collection
Our collection contains many films related to Aboriginal studies including:
The experimental eskimos. This film documents an extraordinary attempt at social engineering and follows Peter Ittinuar, Zebedee Nungak and Eric Tagoona, who, as 12-year-old boys, were shipped south in the early 1960s from their homes in the Canadian Arctic to attend public schools in Ottawa.
Fish out of water (Season 1 and 2). This TV series is an outdoor, television series that features host Don Kelly who is on a demanding new adventure every week to his traditional native land. Through a series of misadventures,he pushes his limited limits to re-connect with his roots and spiritual values.
I'm not the Indian you had in mind. I'm not the Indian you had in mind explores the stereotypical portrayal of our First Nations peoples in the media.
The long walk. Ken Ward was the first Native Canadian to go public with his HIV diagnosis. Seven years later, he has developed AIDS and remains a passionate advocate for HIV prevention and treatment.
What I learned in class today: Aboriginal issues in the classroom. A project in which students, instructors, and administrators at the University of British Columbia, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal, share in videotaped interviews their most memorable classroom experiences where the discussion of Aboriginal issues became difficult and their reflections on the dynamics underpinning these situations.
CBC Radio
CBC Radio's Revision Quest. First Nations comic Darrell Dennis challenges misconceptions of what it means to be an Aboriginal person in Canada today.
Here is a sample of recordings in our collection related to indigenous studies:
Also check out the following websites
Aboriginal publications
Canadian organizations
Canadian Race Relations Foundation
Links to Aboriginal organizations around the world
Special Topics
Art and Culture
Elders
Health
Highway of Tears
Métis
Residential Schools
Traditional Knowledge
Some departments at Carleton put together their own guides for students so check with your professor to see if he/she wants you to use the departmental style.
Copies of the most recent versions of the major academic style manuals (e.g., APA, Chicago, MLA, Turabian) are available at the Research Help Desk (2nd floor, MacOdrum Library).
In addition, click on "Cite your Sources" -- a related "help" link on this subject guide.