Welcome to the Subject Guide for Jewish Studies at Carleton University Library. For further resources on religious studies, consult the Subject Guide for Religion.
Look under the BOOKS tab above to find Judaic Texts.
Scroll down to find:
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Historical Studies
Bibliographies
Biographical Resources
Music
Atlases
Women and Judaism
Canadian statistical sources are found under the Data & Statistics tab above.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionary of Targumim, Talmud and Midrashic Literature
Blackwell companion to Jewish culture : from the eighteenth century to the present
Dictionary of Jewish usage : a guide to the use of Jewish terms
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Encyclopaedia of Judaism
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Encyclopedia talmudica
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea scrolls
Harduf's transliterated English-Hebrew dictionary
Historical dictionary of Judaism
Historical dictionary of the holocaust
New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel
Reader's guide to Judaism
Theological dictionary of rabbinic Judaism
Historical Studies
The Cambridge guide to Jewish history, religion, and culture
Cambridge history of Judaism
Bibliographies
Antisemitism : an annotated bibliography
Bibliography on Holocaust Liberature 1986 edition and 1993 edition
A critical bibliography of writings on Judaism
The Dead Sea scrolls : major publications and tools for study
Index of articles relative to Jewish history and literature published in periodicals, from 1665 to 1900
Biography
The dictionary of Jewish biography
Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America
Historical dictionary of prophets in Islam and Judaism
Jewish women in America : an historical encyclopedia
Jewish writers of Latin America : a dictionary
Jewish writers of North America : a guide to information sources
Jewish Women: a comprehensive historical encyclopedia
Who's who in Jewish history : after the period of the Old Testament
Music
The resource book of Jewish music
Bibliography of Jewish music
Atlases
The Routledge atlas of Jewish history
The Routledge atlas of the Holocaust
The historical atlas of Judaism
Women and Judaism
The Jewish woman : an annotated selected bibliography, 1986-1993 : with 1994-1995 recent titles list
Women and Judaism : a select annotated bibliography
The Jewish woman, 1900-1985 : a bibliography
Use Keyword or Subject searching to find books by a topic. To search multiple words not as a phrase do a Keyword search and use Boolean Operations -
AND to find all of the words in any order
OR to find any of the words
AND NOT to exclude one or more words
For example
religion and culture and canad*
The * symbol will find any ending up to 5 characters. Canad* will retreive Canada, Canadian, Canadians, etc
A full list of search tips is available at the Keyword Searching page.
Judaic Texts
Below is an guide to the core texts of Jewish religious writing. Search tips for the Library catalogue are provided as well as examples of titles available in the collection.
A good starting point:
Back to the sources : reading the classic Jewish texts
Online texts:
Internet Sacred Text Archive: Judaism A free archive of online texts
Hebrew Bible (Tanakh)
Search by title in the Library Catalogue under Bible. O.T. Hebrew
Tanach : the Torah/Prophets/Writings: the twenty-four books of the Bible, newly translated and annotated
Tanackh Mikra'ot Gedolot
The Jewish Study Bible
Online texts:
JPS Bible
A Hebrew - English Bible
Torah - Pentateuch - Five Books of Moses
Search by title in the Library Catalogue under Bible. O.T. Pentateuch. English
The Torah : with an interpolated English translation and commentary based on the works of the Lubavitcher Rebbe Rabbi Menachem M. Schneerson
The Torah; a modern commentary
Online texts:
The Pentateuch
Talmud - Rabbinic Literature, Oral Law
Search by subject in the Library Catalogue under Talmud; Mishnah
The Babylonian Talmud
Mishnayot
Talmudic encyclopedia 2nd. edition
The Talmud : law, theology, narrative : a sourcebook
Online texts:
Bar Ilan's Judaic library
Commentaries, Interpretations, etc
Use the Library Catalogue's Subject search
Rabbinical Literature -- History And Criticism
Talmud -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Or do a keyword search
Jewish law and history
E-book titles avaiabable at Carleton are in the Library Catalogue and will be retrieved by a Author, Title, Subject and Keyword search. Or you may browe our e-book collections.
Relevant eBook Collections:
Brill E-Books
Canadian Publishers Collection
Columbia International Affairs Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Making of America
MyiLibrary includes ebooks from Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press and Taylor & Francis
NetLibrary
Oxford Scholarship online: Religion
Patrologia Latina
Springer ebooks (via SpringerLink)
See all ebook collections.
The list below is a sampling of titles held by the Library. If the journal you are looking for is not listed below, do a title search in the Library Catalogue. If we do not subscribe to it, order the article using Interlibrary Loans.
British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies
International Journal of Middle East Studies
The Jewish quarterly review
Jewish social studies
Journal of Jewish thought & philosophy
Journal of modern Jewish studies
MERIP-Middle East Report
Middle East Journal
Middle East Policy
Middle East Report
Middle Eastern Studies
Modern judaism
The review of rabbinic Judaism
Canadian Statistical Sources
Canada's jews: A Social and Economic Study of Jews in Canada in the 1930s. Available both in print and online. Floor 5 FC106 .J5 R65 1993
2001 Census information on religion
Jewish population, 1971 : composition by sex, age, marital status and language.
The Size and geographic distribution of Canada's Jewish population
Jewish community in Canada, 1931-1961; a study of the changes in the population characteristics.
Statistics Canada 2006 census
Canadian Census Analyzer
Statistics Canada library online
Academic Guide to Jewish History (University of Toronto)
American Jewish Yearbook
Dinur Center, Jerusalem(Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Holocaust Literature Research Institute/Institut de recherche sur la Litérature de l’Holocauste
Jewish Studies Internet Resources(Columbia University)
Jewish Women's Archive - a site dedicated to the history of American Jewish women.
RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies from the Jewish National and University Library.
Avoid Plagiarism
Cite my Sources by style type (APA, MLA, Turabian, etc.)
Chicago manual of style online
Write a book review (Queen's University)
Write a literature review (Portland State University)
Write an annotated bibliography (Memorial University)
RefWorks is an online research management and writing tool that is designed to help students and researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
SET