---
For news-specific databases, archives, websites, directories, etc. - see the Find Guide for News
---
21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook (2009)
Associated Press 2011 Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law (2011)
Benn's Media (2012) - directory of international business and consumer media
The Canadian Press Caps and Spelling (2012 - 20th ed.)
The Canadian Press Stylebook: A Guide for Writers and Editors (2010 - 16th ed.)
Censored (1994-) - news stories which have been censored, overlooked, or under-reported
Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism in Great Britain and Ireland (2009)
Editor & Publisher
Encyclopedia of Journalism (2009) - online
Encyclopedia of Social Networks (2011) - online
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media (2012)
Global Journalism Research: Theories, Methods, Findings, Future (2008)
The Handbook of Global Communication and Media Ethics (2011)
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research: Qualitative and Quantitative Methodologies (2012)
International Encyclopedia of Communication (2008-) - or online
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies (2013)
Oxford English Dictionary (2012) - online
SAGE Reference Online: 2011 Encyclopedia Collection (2011) - online
Journalism -- Bibliography
Journalism -- Objectivity
Journalism -- Research
Journalism -- Style Manuals
Reporters and Reporting
CARDonline
Canada's Information Resource Centre
Canadian Business Resource
Canadian Who's Who
Experts by Topic (Statistics Canada)
FP Advisor
Scott's Directories
Senators and Members of Parliament
Sources
AMICUS (Libraries in Canada)
Center for Research Libraries (Global resources)
University of Ottawa
WATMEDIA (Videos in Ontario)
WorldCat (International libraries)
Awards and Funding (Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs)
COS Pivot
---
And don't forget to visit the Reader's Digest Resource Centre in the River Building for more help!
---
as an alternative to searching by KEYWORD
1. Go to the Catalogue
2. Change the search field from TITLE to SUBJECT
3. Change 'Entire Collection' to 'Books'
4. Begin with the following Subject Headings:
Additional Subject Headings:
Censorship
Citizen Journalism
Communication
Communication -- Moral and Ethical Aspects
Freedom of the Press
Journalistic Ethics
Mass Media
Mass Media -- Moral and Ethical Aspects
Online Journalism
Persuasion (Rhetoric)
Press
Public Opinion
Social Media
Telecommunication
The results will show related Subject Headings. Explore each one that is relevant to your topic. Subject Headings are assigned as a way of grouping related resources together.
---
To find a list of books added to the collection within the past 30 days, see our New Titles page under PN: Literary history and collections (General), Journalism, Film Studies
These books can be found on the main floor, near the Research Help Desk
---
---
See the Databases tab for more recommendations
For news-specific databases, archives, websites, directories, etc. – see the Find Guide for News
---
See the Journal Articles tab for more recommendations
For news-specific databases, archives, websites, directories, etc. – see the Find Guide for News
AJR: American Journalism Review
The Atlanta Review of Journalism History
British Journalism Review
Canadian Journal of Communication
Canadian Press, the -Broadcast Wire
Columbia Journalism Review
Digital Journalism
Editor & Publisher
Global Journalist
Index on Censorship
Journalism & Communication Monographs
Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly
Journalism History
Journalism Practice
Journalism Studies
Journalism: theory, practice and criticism
Media
Political Communication
Ryerson Review of Journalism
From the Data Centre: Canadian (and international) Public Opinion Polls
Please visit the Maps, Data and Government Information Centre (MADGIC) section on Government Information. Note in particular:
See Websites for News Broadcasts in our News Find Guide
Please visit the Websites for Journalism & Communication Studies page in the Find Guide for News