Welcome

This guide provides access to selected resources for the study of Law.  The site below is an excellent starting point for research into Law, especially Canadian Law.

  • Please note that a selection of print reports is found under the "Archives and Primary Sources" tab (presently under revision).  Use the Library Catalogue as the main finding tool for print law reports

 

 

Library Guide: 

Archives & Primary Sources

Archives: 
Primary Sources: 

Judgments of the Supreme Court of Canda: Decisions rendered by the Supreme Court of Canada since 1948; includes some decisions before 1948, and all decisions from Ontario and British Columbia back to 1876.

Laws & Legislation

Canada - Provincial: 

Other Provinces & Territories:

Legislatures

Please note that bills, debates, and other provincial parliamentary documents are usually available on legislative home pages.

Acts & Regulations

Acts and regulations for all provinces and territories are available through Westlaw and CanLII.  Check the Library catalogue for annual statutes not covered by the electronic versions.

Municipal

 

Foreign: 

United States:

Thomas: Legislation (bills, summaries and status, Public Laws), Congressional Record and Committee Information

FDsys:Federal Digital System: Congressional Bills, Congressional Record, Public and Private Laws, and United States Code and Popular Names Tables.

United States Code and help in searching the U.S. Code:

United States - State Law

United States - Municipal

Administrative Code of the City of New York: Scroll to the bottom of the list and click on ADC New York Administrative Code.

Other countries

Australia:

New Zealand:

New Zealand Legislation

United Kingdom:

Other:

Websites

Courts & Tribunals

Federal:

Supreme Court of Canada (1985 - )

Federal Court of Canada (1996 - )

Tax Court of Canada (1997 - )

Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (1979 - ) : Also includes links to provincial and erritorial Human Rights Commissions and Tribunals.

CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute)

Ontario:

Ontario Courts

Ontario Human Rights Commission (1995 - 2002) : Includes summaries of recent key Ontario Human Rights Tribunal and court decisions.

Other Provinces:

CanLII : Includes reports from all Federal and provincial courts and tribunals.

United States:

Supreme Court of the United States

Federal Judiciary : Contains links to the U.S. Supreme Court, courts of appeal, district courts, and bankruptcy courts.

LII (Legal Information Institute, Cornell University)

Foreign:

CanLII : Includes links to Legal Information Institutes by country.

BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute)

WorldLII (World Legal Information Institute)
 

Bar Associations:

Canadian Bar Association

American Bar Association

Federation of Law Societies of Canada

State Bar Associations (Hieros Gamos)

Hieros Gamos: World Wide Bar Associations

Law Related Search Engines:

Findlaw

Jurist Canada

LawNet Canada

Lexum (Université de Montréal, Centre de recherche en droit public)

Uncle Sam, Google

Law Schools and Law Libraries:

Jurist (Canadian Law Schools with links to their libraries).

Canadian Association of Law Libraries (CALL)

The Association of American Law Schools

Law Library of Congress

Law Schools Worldwide