Welcome

For music scores and sound recordings - see Music tab.

Reference Materials: 

Use these to get an overview of your topic or to find definitions of key terms and concepts:

Books

Journals

Select Journals: 

 

 

 

Media

Videos: 

Oral History of American Music (OHAM) collects and preserves audio and video memoirs directly in the voices of major musical figures of our time.

Music

Music: 

Music Scores

Print

Printed scores are searchable in the Library Catalogue.  To search for music scores see Find Music, for help see Searching for Music.

Online Scores and Sheet Music

  • 19th Century American Sheet Music Digitization Project (University of North Carolina)
  • 19th Century California Sheet Music (Berkeley) - A virtual library of some 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900.
  • African American Sheet Music (Brown University)
  • American Memory: Performing Arts, Music
  • Archive of Popular American Music (UCLA)
  • Aria Database - The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, it includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those not affected by copyright restrictions. The Database also provides access to a collection of operatic sound files to give visitors an idea of what each aria sounds like. Currently, the Database holds information on the complete operatic aria collections of Mozart, Verdi, Berlioz, Wagner, and Puccini as well as the partial collections of over 50 other composers.
  • Art Song Central - An archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.
  • Biblioteca de Catalunya - More than 50,000 manuscripts and printed literature and therefore treated as musical scores for a large group of authors from different periods, styles and backgrounds.
  • Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads - A digitized collection of the University of Oxford Bodleian Library's 30,000 broadside ballads, popular songs sold in the streets of Britain from the 16th to the early 20th centuries. Where music notation is available, MIDI sound files have been added to play the notation.
  • British Columbia Sheet Music (University of British Columbia)
  • Chopin Early Editions (University of Chicago)
  • Choral Public Domain - Free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
  • Digital Scores and Libretti (Harvard University)
  • Duke University Libraries Sheet Music
  • Frances G. Spencer Collection of American Sheet Music (Baylor University)
  • Historic American Sheet Music (Duke University)
  • IMSLP / Petrucci Music Library
  • IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana (Indiana University)
  • Irish Traditional Music Archive (ITMA) - Scores
  • Kongelige Bibliotek (National Library and Copenhagen University Library)
  • Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music (Johns Hopkins University) - Consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music. Spans 1780 to 1980, but its strength is its throrough documentation of nineteenth-century America through popular music.
  • Maine Music Box (University of Maine) - The music chosen for the Maine Music Box ranges from vocal popular music to uniquely valuable violin and piano scores. It consists of five major collections: Vocal Popular Sheet Music Collection, Parlor Salon Collection, Music for Two Pianos, Eight Hands, Maine Music, the Haywood Jones Collection of original turn-of-the-century manuscripts, and an instructional collection concentrating on violin. The entire collection is fully searchable.
  • Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music (Library of Congress) - Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music copyrighted from 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
  • Music Online: Classical Scores Library
  • Music Treasures Consortium (Library of Congress) - The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives.  Search or browse materials, access metadata about each item, and view digital images of the treasure via each custodial archive's Web site.
  • Sheet Music Collection (University of Colorado) - A large sheet music collection with approximately 150,000 items including examples from the late 18th through the 20th centuries. The sheet music digitized and presented here was originally published between 1890 and 1922.
  • Sheet Music from Canada's Past (Library and Archives Canada) - Currently features sheet music published before 1900, from 1900 to 1913 and from 1914 to 1920, selected from the historical collection of Library and Archives Canada.  The collection has become the most comprehensive in the country.  Audio examples are available for selected titles.
  • Sheet Music Consortium (UCLA Library) - The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.

Sound Recordings

Online Sound Recordings

For more information please see the MUSIC FIND GUIDE and the SEARCHING FOR MUSIC GUIDE.

Websites

General Gateways

Composers

Associations and Organizations

Music Industry

Thematic Sites:

American Music

Black Grooves is a music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture (AAAMC) at Indiana University. It is targeted at students, scholars, librarians, collectors, and anyone else wanting the low down on the latest black music releases.

Canadian Music

Computer Music

Dissertations and Theses

Early Music

CANTUS is a database that assembles indices of the Latin ecclesiastical chants found in early manuscript and printed sources for the liturgical Office, such as antiphoners and breviaries. This digital archive benefits scholars in a variety of fields including ecclesiastical monody, the sacred polyphony of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, liturgical drama, hagiography, paleography, philology, ecclesiastical history and the history of monasticism, as well as performers of this early music (including church musicians and directors of liturgy), librarians and archivists.

Ethnomusicology

Film and TV Music

Popular Music

Women and Music