Welcome

If you are just beginning your research, try browsing through ArcticNet, a web site that brings together scientists and managers in the natural, human health and social sciences with their partners from Inuit organizations, northern communities, federal and provincial agencies and the private sector to study the impacts of climate change in the coastal Canadian Arctic.

Another excellent resource are the publications of the Centre for the North which is an initiative of the Conference Board of Canada. It's goal is to bring Aboriginal leaders, businesses, governments and community advocates together to identify challenges and opportunitites.

Journal Articles

Click on the Databases tab for a list of more resouces for finding journal articles.

Government Information

Canada - Provincial: 

Nothern Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation

The James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) -  PDF of agreement

Foreign: 
International: 

Media

Images: 

Alaska Native Collections

The Smithsonian's stunning Alaska Native Collections: includes virtual interpretive museum exhibits, aims to make vast Alaska and northeast Siberia collections in the National Museum of Natural History (NMNH) and National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) accessible. The project was implemented by the Arctic Studies Center, a research program of NMNH's Department of Anthropology.

Tribal elders and representatives from source communities made a series of trips to Washington museums to provide cultural information about museum objects. Sharing Knowledge is organized around ten cultures: Iñupiaq, St. Lawrence Island Yup'ik, Northeast Siberian, Athabascan, Unangan, Sugpiaq, Eyak, Tlingit, Tsimshian, and Haida.

Proquest Illustrata: Natural Sciences - is a database of searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

Select videos in the Library's collection:

Arctic IV

Arctic Mission

Caribou of Northern Canada

The Emerging North

Great Northern Forest

Nanook of the North

North: Landscape of the imagination

Northern Lights

Sami Herders

Tikanagan dreams

 

 

 

Websites

 

Writing & Citing

Making Sense in Geography and Environmental Sciences: a student's guide to research and writing REF G74.N67