Welcome to the Subject Guide for Organizational Behaviour and Management at Carleton Univeristy Library. Additional Subject Guides are available. See the list of Related Subject Guides on the right hand side of the this page.
Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Information Resources
Handbooks
Biography
For other types of resources, use the tabs at the top of this page.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
Key concepts in management
Oxford Reference Online: Economics & Business
Regional encyclopedia of business and management
The Sage dictionary of qualitative management research
Global leaders for the twenty first century
The ultimate business library : the greatest books that made management
The ultimate business library : 50 books that shaped management thinking
APA Handbook of industrial and organaizational psychology
Cambridge handbook of culture, organizations, and work
The Center for Creative Leadership handbook of leadership development
Gower handbook of leadership and management development
The SAGE handbook of human resource management
American women leaders : 1,560 current biographies
A to Z of American women business leaders and entrepreneurs
Global leaders for the twenty first century
Use Keyword or Subject searching to find books by a topic. To search multiple words not as a phrase do a Keyword search and use Boolean Operations -
AND to find all of the words in any order
OR to find any of the words
AND NOT to exclude one or more words
For example
Keyword organization* and (cross-cultur* or intercultural) and management
A single * symbol will find any ending up to 5 characters. cultur* will retreive culture, cultural, cultures, etc.
A full list of search tips is available at the Keyword Searching page.
Suggested subject headings include:
Industrial management
Organizational behavior (note: use American spelling)
Psychology, industrial
While the Library purchases very few textbooks, faculty recommend the following titles as a good starting point. Students may wish to contact the University bookstore for titles not held by the Library.
Stevenson, William. Introduction to Management Sciencewith Spreadsheets , Cdn edition 2009
Managing human resources by Luis R. Gómez-Mejía ... [et al.]. 3rd Canadian ed. 2004
Jones, Gareth R. Organizational theory, design, and change. Cdn. ed 2005
E-book titles available at Carleton are in the Library Catalogue and will be retrieved by a Author, Title, Subject and Keyword search. Or you may browse our e-book collections.
Relevant eBook Collections:
Blackwell Reference Online: Business & Management
Cambridge University Press eBooks
Columbia International Affairs Online
eScholarship elibrary from the Univeristy of California Press
MyiLibrary includes ebooks from Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press and Taylor & Francis
NetLibrary
Oxford Scholarship Online: Economics & Finance
Oxford Scholarship Online: Business & Management
Oxford University Press eBooks
PsycBooks
Safari Tech Books Online
Scholars Portal Books
Springer ebooks (via SpringerLink)
Taylor & Francis
Wiley Online Library
If the journal you are looking for is not listed below, do a title search in the Library Catalogue. For titles not found, order the article using the online InterLibrary form RACER.
Academy of Management Review
Administrative Science Quarterly
British journal of Management
California Management Review
Canadian Journal of Administrative Sciences
Canadian Manager
Decision Sciences
Gestion
Interfaces
International Journal of Management Reviews
International Studies of Management and Organization
Journal of Business and Management.
Journal of Management
Journal of Management Inquiry
Journal of Management Studies.
Journal of Managerial Issues
Journal of the Academy of Management
Leadership
Leadership Quarterly
Management Decision
Management International
Management Science
MIR: management international review
MIT Sloan Management Review
Omega: International Journal of Management Science
Organization Science: A Journal of the Institute of Management Sciences
S.A.M. Advanced Management Journal
Strategy and Leadership.
OBM Network
International Leadership Association
WWW Virtual Library for Business & Economics and Social & Behavioiural Sciences
Search the Library Catalogue by Subject to find books on writing business reports.
Subject: English language - Business English
Business report writing
Business writing
Technical writing
Suggested titles
AMA handbook of business writing
The Wall Street journal guide to information graphics : the dos and don'ts of presenting data, facts, and figures
Others aids for writing and citing include:
Avoid Plagiarism
Cite my Sources by style type (APA, MLA, Turabian, etc.)
Chicago manual of style online
Write a book review (Queen's University)
Write a literature review (Portland State University)
Write an annotated bibliography (Memorial University)
RefWorks is an online research management and writing tool that is designed to help students and researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
SET UP AN ACCOUNT / LOGIN
Learning Support Services :
Writing Tutorial Service
Offers students and faculty assistance with the teaching and learning of academic writing. Services are free to students and faculty from all departments.
Learning Support Services
Offers academic skills workshops to help with note-taking, acadmic reading, writing skills...