Welcome

We have a rich collection of resources for the study of the City of Ottawa, its history, geography, economic conditions, and social and cultural life. For general sources of government statistics use the Government Statistics guide.

Books, journals, newspapers, government publications and atlases can be found in our catalogue.  For maps and geospatial or numeric data, contact the Maps, Data and Government Information Centre.

Databases

Archives & Primary Sources

Archives: 
  • City of Ottawa Archives (Tel: 613-580-2424, ext. 13333) Email: archives@ottawa.ca
    The City Archives identifies, acquires, organizes, preserves, describes and makes publicly accessible civic government records and private sector records of individuals, community groups, and businesses. The holdings include textual and electronic records, rare books, historical publications, maps, plans, microfilms, films, photographs, postcards, documentary art, and corporate memorabilia. Corporate records include the records of the new City of Ottawa, as well as the 12 former municipalities, the Ottawa Public Library, Police Services and OCTranspo. The City Archives also collects private sector records that enhance our understanding of the history and evolution of Ottawa. Some examples from more than 350 collections include the Billings, Lett and Ogilvy family papers and records from the United Church of Canada and Royal Ottawa Sanitarium (now Royal Ottawa Hospital).

Data & Statistics

Data: 
Statistics: 

City of Ottawa

  • Statistics links
    • Annual Development Report provides yearly updates and analysis on demographic data, employment, housing, the office and industrial markets and the retail and tourism sectors, summarizes development activity in the city of Ottawa, and measures these, where applicable, against the City's Official Plan objectives. The Annual Development Report also evaluates Ottawa's competitive positioning vis-à-vis Canada's other major cities.
    • Data handbook is an information tool providing current and historical statistics of the social and economic composition of the city of Ottawa.
    • Ottawa Counts (fact sheets on specific aspects of Ottawa life based on census data)
    • 2006 Census of Canada Ottawa statistics (for more statistics see also the Census (Population) guide)
  • Ottawa Neighbourhood Study (University of Ottawa) has maps and profiles for all of the populated 97 Ottawa neighbourhoods that will be useful in helping to highlight health and planning needs and the policies to develop to address these.
  • Ottawa Public Health statistics
  • Ottawa Police Service Ottawa Crime Statistics has statistics by ward. NOTE: See also the Library's GIS collection for geospatial police data.

Other sources of statistics

Government Information

Canada - Federal: 

NOTE: The Library also has many of these reports and their accompanying maps in the Government Documents collection.

Canada - Provincial: 

Ontario

Local: 

Laws & Legislation

Canada - Provincial: 

Ottawa By-Laws

  • Selected current by-laws are available on the City of Ottawa web site. For further information about current by-laws or copies of the official by-laws contact the City at 613-580-2400 or by e-mail at bylawservices@ottawa.ca . The Carleton library has a small collection of historical by-laws; however, the most complete collection is found at the City of Ottawa Archives.

Maps & GIS

Maps: 
  • Printed sheet maps for the Ottawa area are found in two principal locations in the map collection: older maps are filed in 1226.3; more recent maps are filed under G3464.O8. Please ask at the MADGIC information desk for assistance in locating sheet maps.  The map collection has a selection of air photos of the Ottawa area. For more comprehensive coverage by date and area see the National Air Photo Library.
  • Also look for maps of the Ottawa area by using the Library's Custom Google search engine for online maps.
GIS: 
  • Check also the library's GIS holdings for access to extensive detailed geospatial data and air photos of the Ottawa region.

Media

Images: 

Websites

Listed here are non-governmental websites that have resources relating to Ottawa. Click on the 'Government information' tab for websites from official sources.

  • Community Information Centre of Ottawa e-Blue Book searchable by organization name, keywords and subjects
  • Community Foundation of Ottawa Ottawa's Vital Signs annually measures the city’s quality of life in 11 key areas. Note the archived reports (2006 - ) in the left navigation bar.
  • Heritage Ottawa Their mandate is twofold: to advocate on behalf of the preservation of heritage buildings and historic landscapes and to educate and inform residents and visitors to Ottawa on the benefits of preserving the city's heritage from the perspectives of history, architecture, quality of life and tourism. Includes reports and articles on heritage structures in the Ottawa region.
  • Ottawa Centre for Research and Innovation (OCRI) Ottawa Facts includes information about the population, economy, quality of life, education and infrastructure of the region.
  • Ottawa Real Estate Board has information about the local housing market, neighbourhoods and housing pricesand links to municipalities in the Ottawa region.
  • Ottawa Tourism has information about social life
  • Social Planning Council Community economic and social development information
  • Ottawa Yellow Pages searchable by business or personal name