Welcome

Welcome to the library subject  guide for Photonics and Laser Technology Engineering at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. For other types of resources, please use the tabs at the top of this page.

Reference Materials: 

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Handbooks

SEARCH TIPS

  • Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
  • Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
  • Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
  • Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
  • Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
  • Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
  • Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
  • Googlepedia [electronic resource]: the ultimate Google resource / Michael Miller.

Books

Journal Articles

Key Databases for Journal Articles: 

Journals

Select Journals: 

 

Government Information

International: 
  • The use of lasers in the workplace : a practical guide / prepared by the International Non-Ionizing Radiation Committee of the International Radiation Protection Association in collaboration with the International Labour Organization.

Media

Videos: 
  • Laser technology [electronic resource] : fiber optics / Nordeck, Charlie.
  • Laser [electronic resource] : brightest light / Meridian Education Corporation.
  • Optics [electronic resource] / Mico/NHK Enterprises.
  • Photonics [electronic resource] : revolution in communications / Video Education Australasia.

 

Writing & Citing

Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Refworks)

Writing Help

Literature Reviews

Internet resource:

Print books:

Online book:

Database:

  • Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.