Welcome to the Psychology subject guide at Carleton University.
Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Psychological Tests
Handbooks
21st Century psychology: a reference handbook
APA handbook of industrial and organizational psychology
The Cambridge handbook of forensic psychology
The Cambridge handbook of personality psychology
Handbook of child psychology
Handbook of life-span development
Social psychology: handbook of basic principles
The following are some core journals in psychology in the Carleton University Library collection.
Note: The Association of College and Research Libraries' (ACRL) Education and Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) Psychology Committee has developed a database approach to ranking journals in psychology. This database analyzes psychology titles using citation metrics; useful for collection development or for general "rankings" of psychology journal titles based on citations metrics. Use alongside "Impact Factor" from "Journal Citation Reports" to "rank" journal titles in psychology.
For a more complete listing of core journals in various areas in Psychology see:http://www.corepsychologyjournals.org/main.aspx
General Psychology
Advances in the Study of Behavior
American Journal of Psychology
Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science
Current Directions in Psychological Science
American Journal of Psychology
Cognitive Psychology
Aging, Neuropsychology and Cognition
Cognitive Science: a multidisciplinary journal
Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research
Journal of Cognition and Development
Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience
Journal of Consciousness Studies
Language and Cognitive Processes
Learning, Memory and Cognition
Spatial Cognition and Computation
Developmental Psychology
British Journal of Developmental Psychology
Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology
Journal of Experimental Child Psychology
Journal of Youth and Adolescence
Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development
Forensic Psychology
Criminology: An Interdisciplinary Journal
Legal and Criminological Psychology
Data & Statistics
To search for Canadian Census Data, use Beyond 20/20
For instruction on how to use this database, consult the handout "Using the Beyond 20/20 Data Browser to Locate Census Data".
Odesi is a digital repository for social science data, including polling data.
A few guides will help you nagivate Odesi:
Finding, Subsetting and downloading a survey
To cite data & statistics, consult the recommended guides.
For more information on data, contact the Data Centre.
We have an extensive print collection of Canadian federal official publications dating from the Province of Canada period. The Library has been a selective depository for federal government publications since the 1950s and selects the majority of available material of research interest. To find print publications, use our catalogue and limit search to 'Government Information'.
For more information, consult the Canadian Government: Federal webpage.
We have a large collection of provincial and territorial government publications including annual reports, legislative debates, commissions of inquiry reports, budgets, and public accounts and statistics. For more information, see Canadian Government: Provinces and Territories Library webpage.
We have a rich collection of resources for the study of the City of Ottawa, its history, geography, economic conditions, and social and cultural life.
To search for these resources in our Library, consult the guide on "Finding Government Publications in the Catalogue"
Consult the webpage on Foreign Government Information.
Some of the following webpages may be useful:
State of the world's cities provides links to information about municipal government from official sources as well as non-governmental organizations that collect municipal data.
Writing literature reviews : a guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences H61.8 .G34 2006
A short guide to writing about psychology
How to write in psychology : a student guide BF76.8 .B425 2009
Writing for psychology BF76.7 .M58 2010
Writing literature reviews : a guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences H61.8 .G34 2006
Making sense: a student's guide to research and writing: social sciences. H62 .N687 2005 Floor 2 REF