- Quick Links
Welcome to the Religion Subject Guide at Carleton University Library.
New to religious studies? Scroll down to see key reference resources that will aid in beginning your research. The encyclopedias and dictionaries listed below are scholarly works that will help you define your key terms, get an overview of the topics and issues within a field and lead you to further readings. Doing a Literature Review? Scroll down for links to tips and resources. Use the Books tab at the top of the page for instructions on finding books, suggestions of introductory texts and locating book reviews.
Send me an email to book an appointment for research assistance.
Oxford Reference Online Premium - includes over 100 dictionary, encyclopedias, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Search the entire collection or limit by specific subject area.
Routledge Online - two collections available, Routledge Religion Online and Routledge Politics and International Relations Online. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks.
Guides to literature reviews from universities
Sample titles from Carleton's book collection:
Use the CATALOGUE to find books, government documents, conference proceedings, and journals. Only the titles of journals are included in the catalogue: use the databases to search for individual article titles.
Begin with a KEYWORD search.
Join concepts together using AND and OR.
Use AND when the concepts are not related such as religion AND society. This narrows the search as both of those words must be in the information that is being returned.
Use OR when the concepts are similar, and it does not matter which word is found in the information that is being returned. For instance, church OR religion. This broadens the search.
Use truncation when you want to allow for several spellings or variations on a word. For instance, religi* will retrieve religion, religions, religious.
Once you find one or more good books, look at the SUBJECT headings that have been used. Do a SUBJECT search for best results.
ATLA Religion Database search by author or keywords from title and select Review under the option Publication Type.
Reviews in religion and theology Online from 1994 -
Book Review Digest Plus 1983 to the present and Book Review Digest Retrospective 1908 - 1982
Canadian Book Review Annual Online
Book review index Print index. 1965 to present day
See a full list of ebook collections.
Plus - Science of religion; abstracts and index of recent articles - print resource covering the religions of both East and West, ancient and modern. It continues the title International bibliography of the history of religions
Catholic periodical index and Catholic periodical and literature index kjaljfd
Bar Ilan's Judaic Library Searchable database of the Old Testament and rabbinical literature.
International medieval bibliography
Citation searching will help you identify important journals and articles. The impact factor (IF) measures the average number of citations to articles published in a journal.
Use Journal Citation Reports to evaluate and compare the impact of scholarly journals. While arts journals are not included in the JCR, data on key social science titles is available.
Use Citation Indexes to find if a particular author and/or paper has been cited by other authors.
Web of Science
Select Cited Reference Search from top tool bar.
You have the article
"Public-life and hostility to religion" Gedicks, FM Virginia Law Review Volume: 78 Issue: 3 Pages: 671-698 APR 1992
Enter the author in cited author box
Gedicks F* (use surname, first initial and truncation symbol)
Retrieve abbreviation of journal name from list provided, and enter year of publication. VA LAW REV 1992
Deselect disciplines not relevant from listing under Citation Databases
From the list, select the article and click on Finish Search at the top of the list.
Results show the article has been cited 27 times - the most recent in 2013.
Note the option Create Alert to be notified of any future citings of this article.
Select Author Search from menu bar.
Enter author's name and affiliation if known.
Select displayed result. On right hand side all published articles by the author will be listed. Click on article for citing references.
Remember to see if an citing article has itself been cited.
To find a copy of a sacred text search by title in the Library's catalogue. Texts are arranged according to:
1) the language of translation
2) the version, i.e. a personal name, place name or phrase identifying the translator or translating body
3) the date of publication.
Sacred texts are often available online.
Internet Sacred Text Archive - searchable archive of texts and online books about religion, mythology and folklore.
Sacred Texts - extensive list of sacred texts and resources, maintained by a librarian at the U. of Calgary.
BibleGateway -megasite for full text access to multiple languages and editions of the Bible.
We maintain a video collection of DVDs and VHS videotapes that support teaching and research at Carleton. Most DVD and VHS collections are located at Circulation Desk and some VHS tapes are housed in the Storage Facility. You may borrow videos for viewing at home or in the library. To book a video, click on the "Book this Title" button in the catalogue, or email email@example.com.
There are two viewing stations for DVD and VHS located on the 1st floor. DVD's may also be viewed at regular computer workstations.
Headphones may be borrowed from the Library Services Desk for use at the video viewing stations.
We also have online collections of movies. To find videos in our collection do keyword search, and limit the Material Type to Video.
A few sample titles:
Keep up to date on current issues by using our News sources.
Yahoo! - Society and Culture: Religion & Spirituuality - especially the section Faiths and Practices
Guide to Internet Resources for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion
The Internet Sacred Text Archive
BBC - Religions in the news and profiles of religions
Virtual Religion Index gateway to global resources and organizations relevant to religious studies.
Organisation of the Islamic Cooperation
Quakers - the Religious Society of Friends and Quakers in Canada
World Jewish Congress
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
Cite my Sources by style type (APA, MLA, Turabian, etc.)
Chicago manual of style online
Write a book review (Queen's University)
Write a literature review (Portland State University)
Write an annotated bibliography (Memorial University)
RefWorks is an online research management and writing tool that is designed to help students and researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
SET UP AN ACCOUNT / LOGIN