Welcome

This guide is to support research in Sociology.

Start by consulting reference resources, particularly dictionaries and encyclopedias.  These will provide you with the concepts--the right words to use when searching the databases and the catalogue, and you will understand better whether the search results meet your needs!  Don't forget to consult the tabs above for resources in other formats.

Reference Materials: 

Here is a sample of different types of reference resources.  You can find more in the catalogue by following these and other subject headings:

Also try a keyword search, restricting the Location to Reference Collection.

 

Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature

 

Biographical Dictionaries

Try the subject heading:

Sociologists -- Biography

 

Book Reviews

Many Sociology journals publish book reviews.  Search for book reviews in Sociological Abstracts by selecting the publication type book reviews and in Social Sciences Full Text by selecting the document type book review.

 

Current Research

 

Dictionaries

 

Directories

 

Encyclopedias

 

Indexes and Abstracts

See the Journal articles tab for relevant databases of citations and abstracts.

Databases

These databases can be helpful if you are looking for primary sources:

Also consider:

Journals

Select Journals: 

If you know the name of a journal, look it up by its journal title in the catalogue. If you don't know journal names, you can search for journals in the catalogue. Try the subject headings

or a keyword search for your topic, either specifying the Journal Title scope or limiting the location to Journals (in SER).

If you are interested in journal articles regardless of the journal in which they appear, search a journal articles database (choose the databases tab) such as Sociological Abstracts.

Archives & Primary Sources

Archives: 

Maps & GIS

Maps: 

Try subject headings searches in the catalogue, adding -- Maps to your topic; for instance,

Here are some examples of how maps can provide a different way of viewing social issues:

Please see the specialists in the Maps, Data and Government Information Centre (MADGIC) for more information.

Music

Music: 

To find music about social issues, try a keyword search in the catalogue, restricting the Material Type to Musical Scores.

Try these subject headings in the catalogue:

Also consult the subject guide for Music for audio databases as well as for journal articles on the sociology of music.

Websites

General Sociology Links and Search Engines

Associations/Organizations

Academic Departments

Catalogues and Libraries with Sociology Collections

Special Topics:

Class

Cultural Studies

Demography

 Disability

Education

TRAILS, the ASA Teaching Resources and Innovations Library for Sociology

Ethnic and Race Studies

Evaluation

Family

Gender Studies

Homelessness

Information Technology

Methodology

Migration and Refugee Studies

Policy Studies

Religion

Science and Technology Studies

  • Resources (Committee on Science and Technology Studies, Brown University)

Sexuality Studies

Slavery

Social Justice

Connexions Library [subject index]

Sports

Time and Space

Work and Labour

Writing & Citing

  1. Learn how to use RefWorks or other citation management systems.
  2. Consult the Writing Tutorial Service.
  3. Find out about other academic skills workshops offered by Learning Support Services.

Style Guide for the Preparation of Essays (Carleton University Department of Sociology)