Welcome

This guide points you to some of the Library's main resources that will support the Spanish language classes on campus and so focuses on resources to help learn Spanish, as well as resources that are IN Spanish.

If you are more interested in studying the linguistics of Spanish, please see the related subject guide: Linguistics

Make sure to also check the resources of the Language Labs on the first floor of Paterson Hall run by the School of Linguistics & Language Studies

For a list of Spanish Language courses at Carleton see the undergraduate calendar

 

Reference Materials: 

Print reference books

  • The concise American Heritage Spanish dictionary Floor 2 Reference PC4640.A552 2001
  • The Oxford Spanish dictionary Floor 2 Reference PC4640.O94 2003
  • Diccionario de español para extranjeros Floor 2 Reference PC4625.D4778 2002
  • Diccionario de verbos del español Floor 2 Reference PC4271.O15
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture Floor 2 Reference F1406.E53
  • The regions of Spain : a reference guide to history and culture Floor 2 Reference DP48.K45
  • Handbook of Latin American studies Floor 2 Reference F1401.H23
  • Enciclopedia de Chile Floor 2 Reference F3054.E53 2002
     

Online Reference Books:

Books

Journal Articles

Key Databases for Journal Articles: 
  • The "Key databases" let you find journal articles that are written in Spanish
  • The "Additional databases" let you find articles, mostly in English on related topics, e.g. Spanish literature, Spanish linguistics...

Databases

Key Databases: 
  • The "Key databases" let you find journal articles that are written in Spanish
  • The "Additional databases" let you find articles, mostly in English on related topics, e.g. Spanish literature, Spanish linguistics...
  • The Factiva database has full-text of  Spanish language news sources from around the world.
    • To search just the Spanish languague material select the "source category" by choosing "publications by language" or "publications by region" AND change the "Language" to Spanish. Then, do a keyword search, in Spanish, for your topic

 

Media

Videos: 

Videos in our Collection (For more details see our Find Videos guide)

  • You can borrow videos from the Library's collection for 3 days at a time (with 2 renewals).
  • You can pre-book a video for a specific date by using the "Book this Title" button in the catalogue
  • You can search for videos that are either in Spanish or have Spanish subtitles by doing a keyword search and choosing to limit to just the video collection. TIP: to browse ALL films in Spanish/with Spanish subtitles use * as your keyword:

Other Videos

  • Destinos: this is a telenovela (Spanish soap opera) created specficially to help with learning Spanish. 52 half-hour episodes. Can be watched free online
  • Spanish Internet Television : links to the websites of a huge number of Spanish language television stations where videos can be watched
  • Telelatino: tlñ: Canada's Spanish language channel, available locally on Rogers & Bell
  • Telemundo: Spanish language TV channel
  • BBC World Service- Mundo: includes news related videos in Spanish from the BBC
  • BBC Learning - Spanish: videos plus a lot of other material for learning Spanish

Where to find foreign films in Ottawa:

Music

Music: 

Listening to Spanish music, following along with lyrics, can be a great way to improve your language skills, especially with pronunciation

The Library's collection of music CDs does not have much in popular Spanish music, but there is no shortage of music available online.

These sites may help you find music you will like as well as lyrics:

Writing & Citing

The Library has a lot of guides to help with writing papers at a university level. Some selected titles:

  • Fit to print: the Canadian student's guide to essay writing
    Floor 2 Reference LB2369.B83 2009
  • Making sense: a student's guide to resarch and writing
    5th edition, Floor 2 Reference LB2369.N67 2006
    4th updated edition, Floor 4 LB2369.N67 2004
  • Writing with sources: a guide for students
    Floor 2 Reference PE1478.H37 2008