Welcome

Welcome to the library subject  guide for Sustainable and Renewable Energy Engineering, Stream A: Smart Technologies for Power Generation and Distribution at Carleton University.

Two related subject guides of interest also supplement this guide: Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy and Sustainable Energy - Public Policy. For other sources of government statistics use the Government Statistics guide.

Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. For other types of resources, please use the tabs at the top of this page.

Reference Materials: 

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Handbooks

SEARCH TIPS

  • Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
  • Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
  • Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
  • Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
  • Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
  • Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
  • Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
  • Googlepedia [electronic resource]: the ultimate Google resource / Michael Miller.

Books

Journal Articles

Key Databases for Journal Articles: 

Government Information

International: 

 

Media

Videos: 

Websites

Internet Resources

  • Alternative Fuels Data Center Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy.
  • ASTAE - Asia Alternative Energy Program Part of the World Bank's effort to mainstream alternative energy in its power sector lending operations in Asia.
  • Australian Renewable Energy Website Includes an overview of the technologies and a database of the Australian renewable energy industry.
  • CADDET Renewable Energy The International Energy Agency's clearing house for information on renewable energy projects. Its collection of technical brochures is extensive.
  • EUFORES - A Global Overview of Renewable Energy Sources
  • An independent, non-profit making organization, established to pursue the target outlined in the 1994 "Declaration of Madrid" - a 15% substitution of conventional primary energy demand by renewable energy sources by 2010.
  • International Renewable Energy Alliance IREA is a coalition advocacy group, that works to build links on common interests within the renewable energy community. Its members are: The International Hydropower Association, The International Solar Power Society, The World Wind Energy Association, and the International Geothermal Association.
  • Renewable Energy From the BEER site (Building Energy Efficiency Research) at the Department of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong.
  • Renewable Energy Policy Project Provides publications and information on renewable energy policies. This site is more about the social side (policy, markets, etc.) and less about the technologies.
  • Sustainable Finance Initiative A U.N. initiative to help foster investment in clean energies. It has a directory which requires registration to use and industry reports.
  • UNESCAP - Energy
  • U.N. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific's site on energy provides information and links on sustainable and renewable energy.
  • National Renewable Energy Laboratory US Department of Energy (DOE)'s main laboratory for renewable energy R&D.

Writing & Citing

Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Refworks)

Writing Help

Literature Reviews

Internet resource:

Print books:

Online book:

Database:

  • Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.