Welcome

This guide provides links to a wide range of policy and statistical information relating to foreign trade from official government sources and international intergovernmental organizations such as the World Trade Organization.

For other sources of government statistics use the Government Statistics guide.

Data & Statistics

Statistics: 

See also statistical sources listed under Databases.

Canada

Foreign Affairs. Trade and Development Canada   
     Canada's Trade Data

     Trade, Investment and Economic Statistics (Office of the Chief Economist)

Industry Canada

Parliamentary Budget Officer
    Trade and Investment Series

Statistics Canada

British Columbia

Ontario

European Union

Inter-American Development Bank

  • DataINTAL trade statistics system a homogeneous series on trade in the hemisphere, which begins in 1992 and encompasses thirty-one countries (Latin America and the Caribbean, the US and Canada). Select English at top of page.

International Monetary Fund

United States

United Nations

  • UN Comtrade The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) contains detailed imports and exports statistics reported by statistical authorities of close to 200 countries or areas. It concerns annual trade data from 1962 to the most recent year. UN Comtrade is considered the most comprehensive trade database available with more than 1 billion records. Also available through UN Data.
  • UNCTAD Agricultural market access database (AMAD) - requires registration for free use
    UNCTAD Statistics
  • UNCTAD TRAINS (Trade analysis and information system)

World Bank

World Trade Organization

Government Information

Canada - Federal: 

Found here are links to government agencies and international intergovernmental organizations concerned with trade policy. See also statistical information under Data & Statistics.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Canadian Border Services Agency

Canadian International Trade Tribunal (for the investigation of trade remedy cases and complaints concerning federal government procurement and for the adjudication of appeals on customs and excise matters). See its Reports and publications

Export Development Corporation - Economic Analysis and Research (Trade related trends)

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

Industry Canada

Library of Parliament

Parliament

International: 

Asian Development Bank Industry and Trade

European Union

Inter-American Development Bank

  • INTradeBID The Integration and Trade Sector of the Inter-American Development Bank develops specialized databases, models and tools to monitor and assess the impact that integration and trade has on the Region. This portal provides public access to these data and tools.

Organization of American States

United Nations

World Bank

World Customs Organization

World Trade Organization (WTO)

Laws & Legislation

Foreign: 

United States

International: 

European Union

INTradebid Information System on Trade and Integration (Inter-American Development Bank)

World Trade Organization

  • Legal texts including WTO and GATT agreements and Uruguay Round documents

Maps & GIS

Maps: 

Websites

Listed here are non-governmental websites that have resources relating to trade policy. Click on the 'Government information' tab for websites from official sources.